A Year in the Shire

Standard

I have been so blessed this year to live with my housemates. When I first got my housing assignment last summer, I was a little concerned about living with nine other girls in a small house (read: in a double wide trailer), with little privacy, space, or quiet. I ended up being right – I have had little privacy, I have very little space, and the only quiet moments are in the wee hours of the morning.

But I wouldn’t have given it up for anything. These girls have taught me so much over the past eight months, and I love them each dearly. I knew only a few before I moved in, and now, as I prepare to leave Buena Vista for nearly 2 years, I feel as though I am leaving behind sisters.  And so, my dear friends, this post is for you.

We’ve laughed together at our stupid antics and dumb things said out of exhaustion, hyperactivity, and out of love. We’ve embarrassed each other by yelling things as people walked out of the house on dates (which shall never be written online) and by walking out on things we’d rather not see.

We’ve mourned the temporary death of the oven Mordor, and every other time shared in hating the blasted thing for being a hundred degrees too hot and far to temperamental for an inanimate object.

We’ve sat on the floor of the kitchen eating bowls of cookie dough and devouring scones fresh out of the oven.

2012-2013 178We’ve celebrated Christmas with a dog pile on mattresses in the living room and stockings hung with thumbtacks. We even celebrated Hannukah with gelt and a menorah made out of birthday candles, paper plates, and poster putty.

We’ve had jam sessions with the guitar and cello, as well as a series of hairbrushes, wooden spoons, and any available object that could pretend to be a stage.

We’ve celebrated birthdays like it’s our job. Full on birthday feasts that smell so good that the boys next door burst in to see what’s in the oven. Pies, cakes, lasagna, soups… we got birthdays down.

We became pro at homework/study parties, complete with pizza, soda, and ridiculous amounts of sugar at obscene hours.

We’ve learned what it means to share clothes, nail polish, jewelry, and bathrooms. Especially when the hot water ran out on one side of the house or the other.

We learned not to ask questions when someone was eating ice cream straight out of the carton, no matter what time of day it is.

Brownies on the stove are always fair game. Nutella is not.

Harry Potter jokes are always acceptable. Twilight? Never.

We may have wanted to kill each other, but we’re “pack” and each of us had a place in our little family. Kelly will always be the wolf with one eye.

Coming in late, there will always be questions asked.

I have learned so much from you all, I’m honestly amazed. Patience, living with 9 other girls, was a given. But you’ve taught me the power of prayer and of faith, how to a better friend and leader, how to live my testimony, and how to be the type of person I want to be.

You all have been there when I needed a laugh, the rare hug, and at times a talking to. You’ve been my family at SVU, and I’m so blessed by each of your light.

You can’t talk about our house without mentioning those who practically live with us. They are kind of the best in the world. They may as well be moved in (I mean, David practically laid claim to the couch).

Not much can be put into words, but know that I love you and that you are dear sisters and friends. The year in the Shire is the best year I’ve had at SVU.

2012-2013 183

2012-2013 188

Leave a Reply

