The Lion King

Standard

About a week and a half ago, I was able to go see the musical The Lion King in Richmond for the first time, at the Landmark. I’d gone to see Wicked last semester and loved it, but Lion King went above and beyond anything I had ever expected. I felt like a little kid, counting down the days till Disney Land, giddy and impatient as I waited for Thursday afternoon to arrive. A bunch of SVU students drove up to Richmond, grabbed dinner at the local restaurants, and went to enjoy the show.

It was a ridiculous amount of fun to watch everything come alive on stage, especially because all the costumes are incredible. You’ve got giraffes, elephants, lions, antelopes (or were they wildebeests??), all sorts of birds, elephants… the elephants were what really got me excited – they came up through the audience onto the stage, and boy were they huge! I was really impressed.

The music was awesome as well, especially since I already love a lot of South African music already. The cast sang beautifully, charged with emotion and energy. And I have to admit, the one-liners were pretty awesome as well.

We definitely had a blast seeing the show, and listening to the soundtrack on the 2 hour ride home. I think given the opportunity to go see one more Broadway production in my life, I would definitely go see The Lion King again!!!

Leave a comment