“Things Have Never Been Better”

Standard

I’ve just finished up with my first full week back to school here in Virginia. It’s so good to be back in the mountains, and I’ve settled nicely back into the university routine. As President Smith said in the first forum/devotional of the semester, “Things have never been better [at SVU].” It’s just so good to be back!

I’m taking 20 credits this semester – including 3 institute classes – and am pretty happy with my courses. My favorite by far is my Fiction class with Professor Cluff. There are 17 students, and it’s wonderful. I’m the youngest in the class, so there are times when I feel like the little freshman with no opinion, but that doesn’t last long. There’s such a cast of characters in the course, not the least among these Professor Cluff himself. It’ll be an amazing class. How can I tell? It’s one of the few classes I wish were another hour longer. Even though we’re studying fiction, there are ties to philosophy, creative writing and simply put, life. I have a tendency to write down quotes that are humorous or ‘deep’ (or both, frankly, for those are most common) in my notes as I jot down things that professors say. About half of what has been written in my fiction class notebook have been quotes thus far. For example, one of my favorites: “I might be stupid, but I just don’t get Hemingway!”

Ahh, fiction. How you amuse me.

Seriously though, I’m really excited for this semester’s classes. Fiction will be amazing – it is a Cluff class – as will Creative Writing. My two actual institute classes have been great thus far, with Brother Moss and Brother Stuart (How Great the Words of Isaiah and Book of Mormon I, respectively), and I plan on picking up Institute choir next week (which will be a blast). German has been good so far, but that’s a post for another day. My America & the Enlightenment class will most definitely prove to be challenge/enlightening (haha), if a little dry.

It’s also great to be back on campus with my friends, although I have not seen all of them yet. I’ve made a few new friends already, which is really exciting. I can’t wait to see what this semester brings! President Smith closed his devotional by saying this, “we are called to be friends…may we all live up to that call.”

More soon!

Meg

Leave a Reply

