A Time for Thanks (part I)

Standard

The past month or so, I have been reflecting on Thanksgiving. I don’t know why it is so poignant this year, perhaps because it is my first “real” holiday away from home (the Canadian Thanksgiving inefficient in the American holiday department by some because I do not hold Canadian citizenship… I deem that lame), or because I’ve grown up a bit more. But honestly, I’m going to go with the double-theory on this one. I’ve gotten older, and it’s my first holiday out on my own. Because of this, the things I am grateful for have been at the forefront of my mind the past few weeks.

A week or so ago, my roommate Kambyl and I decided to decorate the door of our room. It began at first with kirigami leaves in bright fall colors and ended up with pieces of coordinating paper covering the door. On those slips of paper, we had written some of the [many] things we were grateful for. We had a good conversation while doing our crafting, about home and family, our friends and other things we are grateful to have in our lives. Of course we mentioned those serious things like family and friends, home and the Church, the blessings of being here at Southern Virginia University.

There were also very simple things that we took joy in: black and white photography, daffodils, chocolate, long-awaited letters, etc.

And then came the silly things: the VMI guys that make us laugh, socks, Alexander Rybak (who doesn’t love the video “Oah”?), Harry Potter…

Anyway. Our Thanksgiving inspired silliness prompted me to think of all the things I am personally grateful for. I figured I would share my top one hundred. No worries, not all in one post, fifty here and fifty in a second post. Aren’t you grateful? (Aren’t I funny?) They aren’t in any particular order, mind you, but here they are:

1. Family and “almost-family Family.”

2. The opportunity to be here at Southern Virginia University.

3. Living on a hill where we get the best view of sunsets and foggy mornings on campus.

4. Friends who have the same sense of humor as I do.

5. Christmas music – minus the song “Blue Christmas.” But I sing it anyway.

6. Strangers who smile back at you.

7. The novella, The Little Prince.

8. Getting letters you’ve (in)patiently waited for in the mail.

9. Any member of the equine species.

10. My orange PF Flyers.

11. Guys who sing.

12. The rubber bands that hold my scriptures together (and my scriptures, obviously).

13. Books.

14. Fountain pens.

15. The way sunlight strikes yellow leaves early in the morning.

16. Quiet morning walks accompanied only by the music in your mind.

17. Plaid.

18. Blank notebooks.

19. My professors.

20. Paper cranes.

21. Post-it notes.

22. Poetry (especially the Robert Frost variety).

23. The Blue Ridge mountains & the Shenandoah Valley.

24. Hymns on a Hill.

25. Music.

26. Troxel helmets.

27. Improv.

28. Photography.

29. Missionaries.

30. Birds.

31. Birch trees.

32. Roses.

33. Visits from family.

34. 4-way calling.

35. Challenges.

36. Claddaghs.

37. Adventures.

38. Writing.

39. Uilleann pipes.

40. Harvest season.

41. Hot cocoa.

42. Perfectly colored & shaped leaves.

43. Talking to friends (and families) for hours.

44. Quilts.

45. Good songs that get stuck in your head.

46. the American Flag.

47. Vivid memories.

48. Harmonizing.

49. Rainboots.

50. Packages from home.

One response »

Leave a Reply

