I heart New York

Standard

I know I promised a few posts on graduation, etc. but my OCD tendencies won’t allow me to write about such an important event such as graduation without some photos to accompany them. Take it up with my OCD monsters – they are few, but powerful!

So, instead, I thought I would update everyone and let them know I’m back in the Empire State for a week. I love the annual week that Taylor and I spend in Upstate NY. We always head this way just after school ends and it’s such a wonderful way to let go of the school year and relax. This year is especially meaningful because it is the last summer I have to hang out here with my family before heading off to college in August. So I’ll just give you a top ten reasons I love New York:

1. My family is here!! We only see eachother a few times a year, and it’s always a blessing to spend time with them.

2. Everyone is so ridiculously friendly. People talk to you in nearly every place you go, and are so warm and open. It helps that my papa knows half the state of NY too.

3. It’s such a beautiful part of the country – the perfect mix of open land and woods, of city and country, of fast paced living and slow relaxation.

4. Tiny little shops abound here! I love the way most little shops are around here. They aren’t all packed into a mall or strip mall (I really dislike strip malls), but fill a street. There’s lovely cafes, boutiques, and studios all in a nice neat row, just waiting to be explored (tomorrow, possibly?).

5. The Finger Lakes. One of my favorite places in the entire world. Keuka is definitely my favorite, but nothing beats Seneca if you’re planning on spending a day on the boat, cruising about. They’re clean and beautiful and not too crowded. What more can you ask for?

6. The history. Upstate NY is all but drowning in history. This area has produced fashion designers, astronauts, tv news anchors, conspirators (John Surratt, in case you’re wondering, he was in on the Lincoln assasination), athletes and more. There’s Corning Museum of Glass. Mark Twain’s study is at Elmira College. And it helps that my grandparents are like my our own personal docents.

7. Farmers Markets. It might just be me, but it always seems like there are a) more farmers markets and b) everything is fresher and cheaper than in New England. But true or not, I love it. And don’t forget those baked goods they sell there too. Strawberry-Rhubarb pie, anyone?

8. There’s never a shortage of things to do. Hiking, fishing, shopping, exploring, simply meandering about.

9. Ice Cream. There’s always a nearby ice cream parlour or stand. It’s the Dunkin Donuts of the Empire State. And for good reason.

10. It’s just a happy place.

There you go. My first Top 10 List. I doubt it will be the last, because this was rather fun to think up. Hopefully my new camera (!!) will arrive in the mail sometime tomorrow or the day after so I can snap some pictures to post, and I’ll start working on the grad posts. Till then!

(oh, and #11 on the list is the fact that I’ve never seen any state with so many “I (heart) [insert state here]” shirts!)

Leave a Reply

